About the Authors

Kyle M. Costello is an intellectual property attorney with Boyle Fredrickson, S.C., and focuses his practice on intellectual property acquisition, enforcement, and licensing. He received his B.S. in biological science from Marquette University and his J.D. from the University of Wisconsin Law School. He is a member of the American Bar Association and the State Bar of Wisconsin.

John H. D'Antico has been practicing law for more than 20 years, including as an IP counsel, IT counsel, and general counsel. He has worked in private practice for multiple law firms based in Wisconsin, Texas, and Arizona, as well as held various in-house roles for companies with offices throughout the world. For example, Mr. D'Antico was the first patent attorney hired by G.E. Healthcare to do internal preparation and prosecution in Waukesha, Wisconsin. Thereafter, he also served as the chief patent counsel for a gaming company in Nevada, general counsel for a lawn and garden company in Illinois, and general counsel for a construction company in Iowa. He also worked as IT counsel for two years at Rockwell Collins. Mr. D'Antico currently is the chief patent counsel and director of cost management for Questel SAS, which is an end-to-end IP solutions provider based in Paris, France. He also served as chairperson of the State Bar of Wisconsin's Intellectual Property and Technology Law Section and was president of the Wisconsin Intellectual Property Law Association. Mr. D'Antico graduated with a B.S.E.E. from Marquette University, an M.B.A. from the University of Illinois, and a J.D. from the University of Florida. He also served on active duty in the U.S. Navy.

Shane Delsman is the practice group leader of the Intellectual Property Group and a shareholder in the Litigation Practice Group of Godfrey & Kahn, S.C., with experience in litigating and prosecuting patents, trademarks, copyrights, and trade secrets. He also regularly supports complex mergers and acquisitions involving intellectual property assets. Mr. Delsman is a leader in a number of highly respected intellectual property organizations, including the American Bar Association, the Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, and the International Trademark Association, and he also is a past president of the Wisconsin Intellectual Property Law Association. Mr. Delsman earned his J.D. and B.S. in civil engineering from the University of Wisconsin.

Michael T. Griggs is a shareholder of the intellectual property firm of Boyle Fredrickson, S.C. He received a B.S. in mechanical engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 2000 and a J.D. from the University of Wisconsin Law School in 2003. He is admitted to practice in Wisconsin, Illinois, the Eastern and Western Districts of Wisconsin, the Northern District of Illinois, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, the U.S. Supreme Court, and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. He is a member of the American Intellectual Property Law Association, the State Bar of Wisconsin, and the Illinois State Bar Association.

Joseph S. Heino is a shareholder with Amundsen Davis, LLC, and practices in the area of intellectual property law. Mr. Heino received his J.D. from Marquette University Law School and his B.S.E.E., magna cum laude, from Marquette University. He is admitted to practice in all state and federal district courts in the state of Wisconsin, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit and is registered to practice before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. He is a member of the American Bar Association, the American Intellectual Property Lawyers Association, and the State Bar of Wisconsin. He is author of *Intellectual Property for the Medical Professional* (Booklocker.com Inc., 2013).

Brad L. Meyer is an intellectual property attorney with Boyle Fredrickson, S.C. Mr. Meyer concentrates in patent and trademark prosecution, licensing, and strategy. He also has experience in intellectual property due diligence associated with mergers and acquisitions, as well as with intellectual property infringement litigation issues abroad, specifically in China. He is a member of the State Bar of Wisconsin and is registered to practice before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. He has a B.S. from Iowa State University and a J.D. from Marquette University Law School.

Timothy E. Newholm, a founding shareholder with Boyle Fredrickson, S.C., and a former president and member of the firm's board, practices in the area of intellectual property with an emphasis on patent prosecution and counseling. Mr. Newholm is a member of the State Bar of Wisconsin and is registered to practice before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. He was also an adjunct professor from 1997 to 2007 at Marquette University Law School, where he taught patent prosecution. He earned a B.S. from the University of Wisconsin-Platteville in 1986 and a J.D. from George Mason University in 1992. He coauthored "Changes in Patent and

Copyright Law Under GATT," published in *Wisconsin Lawyer* in 1995, and "Protecting American Inventors," published in *Wisconsin Lawyer* in 2000.

Megan Q. Peccarelli attended Emerson College, earning a B.F.A. in writing, literature, and publishing, and earned her J.D. from Washington University School of Law. Ms. Peccarelli is a career associate with Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP, Washington, D.C., and formerly was with Quarles & Brady LLP, Milwaukee. She is a member of the State Bar of Wisconsin.

Hillary J. Wucherer earned a B.S. in mechanical engineering from Purdue University and a J.D. from Marquette University Law School. Ms. Wucherer formerly was a partner in the Intellectual Property Practice Group at Quarles & Brady LLP and focused her practice on trademark, copyright, and advertising law. She is also a registered patent attorney and a coauthor of the Wisconsin chapter of International Trademark Association's U.S. State Trademark and Unfair Competition Law treatise. She is a member of the State Bar of Wisconsin, the Milwaukee Bar Association, and the Wisconsin Intellectual Property Law Association.

Authors of Previous Editions

Elisabeth Townsend Bridge

Sarah M. H. Brindley

Mathew E. Corr

Michael J. Gratz

Eric E. Lenzen

Shailaja Reddy

Carl R. Schwartz

Heather S. Stutz

Dirk Vanover

Walter E. Zimmerman